.HipsterHamster. Keep Calm and Eat a Carb

Lately, all I’ve wanted to eat is bagels. It’s constantly on my mind. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside and choc full of cream cheese.
I have to admit when I lived in New York, I was not a bagel, pizza, or cheesecake eater. I ate what I could afford, street meat, rice and beans, and occasionally tuna if art supply costs were low that week. I don’t have a high New York standard of what bagels should taste like, but I know stellar when I eat it. I found it at The Bagel Broker located on Fairfax and Beverly in an unassuming little strip of shops.
I work right up the street from this gem. I’ve driven by it countless times, butΒ  shamefully I must admit, I didn’t try it I until the L.A.Times deemed it one of the ten best bagel places in the country!
I picked up blueberry, cinnamon raisin, and cheese onion with various smears for my co-workers.

Everyone devoured their treats, which is no easy feat in an office full of dieting women!
I always go for savory bagels, onion to be specific. I have little interest in my bagel being sweet. My personal favorite is the cheese onion. When toasted it has the perfect crunch to it and their cream cheese, of which I always opt for plain, is out of this world!

cheese & onion bagel with onion and chive cream cheese.
Since this place has been written up in a major publication, the bane of every hipsters existence, it is constantly populated, but they move fast! I always have enough time to return to work, devour my delectable treat, and fix my make up! They serve with a smile and a funny little t-shirt that appropriately tells Angelinos to,”keep calm and eat a carb”.

.What do you think.

