.Baked Brie. High-Altitude Brownies

For my new Crested Butte readers, I have the golden ticket!

Since moving from sea-level, practically at the sea, to 7,700 feet, baking has been a challenge. Usually, Sally’s Baking Addiction usually gets me through. She teaches me so much. Her recipes are very sensitive to the very basic chemistry of baking, so they usually work out like aces up here! But when it comes to brownie, come boxed or from Sally, I just can’t get it right.

So I sat down at my computer, stumped, and searched pinterest for high altitude brownies. I found this golden ticket!

3531532b7971ae2699c5ebd427e64e77

Sweet And Saucy High Altitude Brownies

I’ve made a few changes and added a cookie dough frosting. Here we go!

.Ingredients.

.For Brownies.

1/2 cup of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1/2 cup + 1Tbsp of Flour

1 cup  1Tbsp) of Granulated Sugar

1/4 tsp salt

3 Large room-temperature Eggs

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Stick of Unsalted Butter (melted and cooled)

.For Cookie Dough Frosting.

This is from trusty Sally!

3/4 cup of Unsalted Butter (softened to room temp)

1 cup + 1 Tbs of Light Brown Sugar

.Instructions.

Preheat the oven to 375. I used muffin tins and liners, but this recipe will also work with a greased 8×8 inch pan. So, grease that pan!

Mix the cocoa powder, flour, sugar and salt together in a large bowl. Set aside.

Whisk together melted and cooled butter with vanilla and room temperature eggs. 

Create a well in the dry ingredients and poor the egg mixture into the middle. 


IMG_3598

Gently fold together the ingredients with a spatula. It will take a while. Be gentle. Be patient, until it looks like this. I know we all say it, but don’t over mix!

IMG_3599

I left out the additional chocolate chips because…

Its fine how it is! The chips push it over the edge for me into the too-chocolaty range.

I baked my muffin tin brownies at 375 for 28 minutes and they were perfect.

IMG_3601

Now on to the frosting! This is a cinch. Look closely at the recipe. It’s basically chocolate chip cookie dough minus the raw eggs. Awesome.

Cream the butter and brown sugar at medium speed. Add the vanilla, beat until fluffy. Add flour and salt. Beat in milk until fluffy and fold in chocolate chips. Top your brownies with the frosting and hand these out to everyone you can. Good brownies are hard to come by up here!

 

 

IMG_3603

.What do you think.

